$2,025

That’s what I pay per year for the co-pays on my prescription mediciations.  $2,025.  Here’s what I take:

Metformin (diabetes), Levemir (insulin), Novolog (insulin), Metoprolol (heart), Plavix (heart), Norvasc (blood pressure), Diovan HCT (blood pressure), Crestor (cholesterol), Zetia (cholesterol), and Lovasor (cholesterol).  I also have a prescription for my diabetes testing supplies (test strips) and the needles for my insulin.

On top of that, I take 81 mg of aspirin per day, two multivitamins (in preparation for surgery), 1200 mg per day of Calcium with Vit. D, and fish oil for an added cost of approximately $324 per year.  That’s a grand total of $2,349 per year.

After surgery, I am hoping to get off of most of my medication.  I’ve discussed it with my doctor, and we are hoping that eventually, in the next couple of months, I will get off of everything except the Plavix and the Metoprolol.  I will need to take the multivitamins, calcium citrate, b-12, and iron post surgery.  I will need to see if I can still take my 81 mg a day of aspirin – at the very least, I will need to take a chewable instead of what I take now.  All my vits have to be sub-lingual or chewies.  So lets see –

Plavix – $75 every three months for $300 a year

Metoprolol – $12.50 every three months for $50 per year

I’m expecting my vitamins and stuff to stay around $325 per year, for a grand total of $675.  A total savings of $1,674 a year.  That’s our dues at Trails End.

Come on surgery – with what I save on my drugs, I’ll be able to buy my first pair of skinny jeans and boots, and new underwear, and bras, and the list goes on and on and on…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kelly
    Nov 02, 2009 @ 11:31:31

    Or…if you put that money into savings you can pay for your plastic surgery or a REALLY nice “skinny vacation”. LOL. Yeah for hopefully getting off most of those meds! Or maybe even all of them?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

