The Good, The Bad and the Ugly

So – the good – I’m still losing (yay!).  And my doctors are thrilled at that.  As am I.  My pouch has remembered what restriction is.  I’m upping my protein and lowering my carbs.  And I thank God every day that I can’t tolerate sugar.  I was watching a news blurb the other day (I think on CBS, but don’t hold me to it) that said that Gastric Bypass (as compared to the lapbad and the sleeve) is still the gold standard for weight loss surgery.  I don’t know if I agree with that article (they were comparing the amount of excess weight loss and the instances where diabetes was made better as a result of the surgery), but it was the right decision for me and my sugar and crap food addiction.  I’ve now lost 75% of my excess weight (going by a goal weight of 150), my diabetes is in remission, my heart disease has reversed itself, my sleep apnea is gone, and I feel so much better.

The bad – the excess skin is start to cause issues.  My eczema has flaired where there are larger amounts of extra skin on my back and under my breasts.  Not much the doc can do for it except tell me to take quick showers with lukewarm water and moisturize.   At least it wasn’t skin infections (although I am starting to get sores on my rear where my extra skin hangs down over the tops of my thighs – how pretty).

The ugly – the right knee is buggered.  I have to call today to set up an x-ray.  It’s grindy and poppy and sore to the touch – the same as the left knee was before my last surgery.  And it’s not attributed to excess weight but instead it’s a result of degenerative joint disease which runs in my family.  Oh well.  I don’t want more surgery.  EVER.  But oh well.

So, that’s what’s going on.

Leave a Reply

